PINE WOOD DERBY CARS

Making a Pine Wood Derby Car………………………hmmmmm, isn’t that for the Boy Scouts?? I remember my oldest making a couple of them and competing with them. That track was amazing!!! How fast did those little cars go………..WOW!!!! Now……….that was almost 12 years ago, yea, at least!!! With dad’s help, Tim had fun and did quite well competing!

Fast forward to today…………………………when asked who wanted to accept the challenge to make a mixed media car……………..guess who raised her hand??? YUP, that would be me!!! I love to explore the world of mixed media……even though I am still learning! What a way to combine the two………..mixed media and a Pine wood Derby Car. All the cars needed to start out  alike…………but, that is where the likeness stopped! After lots of thought, I decided I wanted to construct a pullin’ tractor…………….a mixed media pullin’ tractor!

Hubby cut both ends off to make the main part of the body with his chop saw. A first for me was forming the modeling clay to make fenders, seat and weights. While the clay was drying, The main part of the body was rotated so I could use the largest part as the hood of the tractor. I took to whittling down and rounding the hood. My paint job came out rough as I mixed together green gliitter and the Tim Holtz forest mass paint. Different but I like how it came out! I used a few pieces that came in the derby car kit……………the engine block, screws and muffler pipes. I altered these pieces by rusting them. I added the bling at the end to glitz it up, some! Of course, I needed to have a driver…………………the lambie fit the bill!!!

Here is my PULLIN’ TRACTOR:

Screen shot 2015-03-24 at 8.48.36 PM

Screen shot 2015-03-24 at 8.49.33 PM

Screen shot 2015-03-24 at 8.49.15 PM

Screen shot 2015-03-24 at 8.48.53 PM

      What a fun project!!! Hope you enjoyed checking out my Pullin’ Tractor.

Wanna see more fantastic cars???? Check out these blogs:

<!– start InLinkz script –>

<a rel=’nofollow’ href=”http://new.inlinkz.com/luwpview.php?id=509145″></a&gt;

<!– end InLinkz script –>

Thank you for visiting my blog today……..hope to see you again!!!!

Categories: scrapbooking | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “PINE WOOD DERBY CARS

  1. I love how you chopped off the end of the car!!

  2. I cant stop smiling….love your Tractor car!!

  3. This is so creative and so totally you! I love it! 🙂

  4. Tina Walker

    I could not wait to see what you created! You have a wonderfully creative mind and your car is the perfect YOU! I love it! ♥

  5. How imaginative and fun… a pulling tractor! You certainly are a master of mixed media… and of altering, too. This is so fabulous and the molded clay sections are genius 🙂

  6. What a great imagination, well done. BL

  7. Amazing It looks terrific. So much imagination!! BL

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

