DISTRESSING

I have been asked soooooo many times “how did you do that”?

Distressing……….hmmmm………it is not as easy as it looks! I have been perfecting it for five years, now and still am not able to do it like the pros. I am learning a little at a time, though.

Well………….I am going to try to show you how I  go about distressing. Remember….there is more than one way to get the look you want, you just have to give em’ a try. Practice makes perfect!!! I am sorry for the poor quality of the photos……….the youngest took these photos and is not that familiar with my camera………

Here are the tools I use to distress with: Tim Holtz distressing inks(I can not talk about how the other inks work as I only use the TH inks), distressor, Ranger blending tool and foam pads(there are two sizes….the one I have and a smaller round one…..I have that one coming), make up sponges, razor blade sandwiched between popsicle sticks.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.13.26 PM     1.) To ink the edges of the paper, I use a makeup sponge(wedge shaped). You can apply the ink pad directly to the edges but I find the sponge to be easier…………it also allows you to get a tiny bit of ink on the front of the paper.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.13.48 PM     2.) To give the paper a over all inked appearance, I use the Ranger blending tool and the sponge that fits it. Starting off the paper, you swirl in a circular motion…..onto the paper. This takes some time and practice to figure out how hard you need to press and how wide your swirls need to be.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.14.09 PM     3.) Tearing the paper is quite easy. I like to control my tears…………..keeping my fingers close to where I tear. Please note that if you tear the paper up with your right hand……………you will get the white or core of the paper facing up. You can ink the tears with the TH blending tool or leave them plain.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.14.32 PM     4.) Next up is distressing the edges. If you use the distressing tool, you will get a fuzzy look. I pull the tool toward me while holding the paper close to the edge. You can ink the underside and edges of the paper first to get a different look.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.14.54 PM    The youngest made me a tool that would tear the paper while I ran it along the edges. It is made from a razor blade and four popsicle sticks. I use it the same way as I do the distressing tool.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.15.15 PM     5.) The latest type of distressing I learned id rolling paper. This opened up a new world for me! To achieve the look of rolled paper…………….I tape the paper to the page…..running the tape about an inch from the edges. I get the paper slightly wet underneath( I use my finger and spit). Then I start rolling the edges…………I place the paper so I am rolling it towards me. I might tear the corners off or might roll them. To get that deep tear…………just rip towards the center. You can leave it there or completely remove it……then roll.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.15.44 PMScreen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.16.05 PM

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.16.45 PMScreen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.17.04 PM

This is a display page of all the ways I distress paper……………paper that will go on my LOs.

Screen shot 2015-03-12 at 7.16.30 PM     I want to thank you for joining me in this distressing tutorial. I hope you pick up something that you can use.

Have a great day!!!

Categories: scrapbooking | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “DISTRESSING

  1. Very nice tutorial. Bl

  2. floridadem

    Oh wow thanks I am impressed and learned a new technique rolled paper very cool!! BL

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

