Layering

AHHHHH………..layering!

The dictionary describes layering as “a covering that is set between two levels.”  To me layering means many pieces of paper, lace, ribbons, embellishments, paint, inks or Washi placed on top of each other in a fashion that allows one to see a part of each element. I am going to try to teach you how I go about layering……..yes, there are many different ways to approach layering but this is how I do it.

1.) I collect everything that I might need for my project(putting together more than I really need). I will pick and choose the goodies  I want to use when I add the photos.

P10609152.) Next, I play with the paper…………………what pieces of pp or cardstock works with my photo/s. This is where I go to my scraps………..yea, use them up!  I just start placing(layering) the pieces in a pleasing order………..I have not started to create the shapes, yet. In this LO, I have decided to make thinner layers instead of using larger layers. Remember, you do not always have to use a square…………change it up and add rectangles, circles and triangles to your layers. If you have problems visualizing the different shapes you want to use……..make yourself some chipboard templates(keep them). Now start layering those templates till you are happy………….now cut out the paper.

Screen shot 2015-03-10 at 12.41.33 PMScreen shot 2015-03-10 at 12.42.07 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3.) Before you start placing the layers on your background……..let’s layer that background page. I love to stamp, ink, mist, use gesso or paint. It is all about adding one layer on top of another. So……let’s stencil on some gesso. Let it dry then stamp a pattern, lightly, around  the page. Add a few darker stamps on top of that. You wil probably want to color your gesso. Now lightly spritz some mist. Let all dry.

screen-shot-2015-03-10-at-12-43-05-pm

Screen shot 2015-03-10 at 12.43.23 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.) One thing I do is as you remove the layers…one by one…..mark a corner. Try to mark it under the photo or another layer…….that way you can not see the marks. I do this so the pieces are placed exactly where I want them.Screen shot 2015-03-10 at 12.43.38 PM5.) Now start to add the pieces one layer at a time…………..attaching them with your glue or tape. P1060939P1060942

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6.) After I get the layers adhered, I add the photos. I usually use pop dots as my layers make parts of the photo stick up of the page.

P1060943

7.) Now you can add your embellies and journaling………layer the journal behind the photo.

Here is my ending LO…………..complete with all the layers.

Screen shot 2015-03-07 at 3.49.31 PM

Categories: scrapbooking | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Layering

  1. Wow you make it look so easy this is a nightmare for me LOL Love your layout !! BL

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

