SCRAPBOOKERS BLOG TOUR

Hi ya’ll……………………..and welcome to my little world of scrappy heaven!

To get things started, I need to explain the header photo…………….sheep’s rear ends. We show our sheep in 4-H and open(adult) at many of the local fairs. When you show a group(this group is called a flock), you need to have the rear ends of the group facing the judge. The judge will walk around the front to check the heads. The owner of the sheep does not have a hold of any head, either. He/she is responsible for setting the back feet and taking the heads of the middle sheep…….when the judge looks at them. This photo was taken at our last fair and shows our Reserve Champion Over-all-Breeds Flock. We were honored to achieve this placing!!!

Now off to check out what makes me tick……………..in the scrap room!! I want to thank Shirley for tagging me…………….you can check out her blog to see how inspirational she is. She hosts monthly sketch challenges  and is incredible using mixed media!!!  I was real honored to have been asked to participate in the Scrapbooker’s Blog Tour!!!!

1.) WHAT AM I WORKING ON RIGHT NOW?

I just pulled a bunch of “fall” type goodies to work on a beautiful foliage photo. The photo was taken on a recent  weekend trip to Pittsfield, Vt. Although the foliage was past peak………………..I was able to find some fantastic scenery.

                                              Screen shot 2014-10-13 at 7.50.40 AM

My desk is kept clean from LO to LO as that is all I have room for. Most of my tools, mists and paints are kept in front of me…………back of desk.

2.) HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE ME TO COMPLETE A PROJECT?

I usually have a couple of hours at night to scrap……….well, maybe a rainy day would be an exception. I never get a LO done in one setting! The type of techniques I use determines how long the LO will take.  No mixed media technique will take two to four hours. A LO that has some sort of mixed media, on it, will take time to dry………………………usually four to eight hours. I also love making my own embellishments and letters. During the summer months…………………it might take me a week or more to complete a LO. To many factors are working against me………………no time, ambition or creative energy!!!

3.) WHAT ARE MY FAVORITE THINGS TO CREATE WITH AT THE MOMENT?

Tools would be my Sizzix, Cricut and disrtressor. I love to use distressing inks, modeling paste, gesso, mists, twine,  distressing paints, markers, flowers, wood, natural fibers, metal pieces and my punches. I love to make my own embellishments!  My latest love is punching out shapes from soda cans. I then prep the aluminum shape to rust it.

                                                    Screen shot 2014-10-13 at 8.32.26 AM

4.) HOW DOES MY WRITING/CREATIVE PROCESS WORK?

Most of the time I have a sketch or inspirational LO first. My inspiration selection process includes do I love it and can I down-size the original(to my 81/2×11 pages). Then I decide upon a photo or series of photos. Once I have the photo…………………..I select paper, burlap, twine/ribbon, embellies, borders, stencils and whatever I need for mixed media……………I make a kit. Of course, goodies will be added or taken away as I proceed with my LO…………………it is always  evolving. 85% of the time……………my LO does not look exactly like the original. You will be able to see the main elements, though!

5.)HOW DO I BECOME INSPIRED AND STAY INSPIRED?

My creativeness depends upon the seasons. When I am real busy………………I am not very creative. When it slows down………………I start scanning blogs to find sketches and will pull upon other “peeps” work. I love to look at others LOs to become inspired………….how can I make it my own, what do I love about it or just look at the elements or techniques.

6.) WHAT IS MY SIGNATURE STYLE?

My style is MINE!!!  Someone once told me that I should never “nail” my style down. Yes, when you see one of my LOs……………….you can tell its mine, or so I’ve been told. I do tend to gravitate towards the distressed……country look. I stay away from bright colors……….will use them but always mute them. I have started to use white background……………..mainly due to the fact it is a clean canvas to start with. I am playing around with mixed media and love it. I love to reserve the right to try new techniques………….to find out if I like or love it! If I love it…………..that technique will make its way on my pages. I am known to use “flowers” on my guy’s pages………….but I mix them with metal embellies.

Here is a example of a LO I just finished:

                                                  Screen shot 2014-10-13 at 7.49.59 AM

THANK YOU ALL FOR VISITING MY BLOG…………………I HOPE YOU  LEARNED SOMETHING ABOUT WHAT MAKES ME TICK!!!!!

To keep this tour going, I have tagged one other mixed media/scrapbooker.

Help me welcome CHRISTINE MIKKLOA to the world of blog tours.

                                                                        Screen shot 2014-10-13 at 7.48.15 AM

Christine is a incredibly artistic person! She has some fabulous tutorials(at which I have learned from) on her blog. I love her clean and simple style but she is not afraid to add mixed media. She loves to use bright colors………….using them well.

Categories: scrapbooking | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “SCRAPBOOKERS BLOG TOUR

  1. Love your blog tour post! Of course, I love your header photo, it is a favorite……love the expression on your sons face! You truly have a unique style of scrapping and I love how you are turning aluminum into signature pieces on your layouts. Thanks for sharing!

  2. LOVE it Robyn!! Thanks for the tour! And you are totally right about your style! It’s absolutely “YOU” your style! Love your work my dear, you are one very talented lady! Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. Congrats on the Reserve Champion designation! Brings back many memories of showing my 4-H sheep all those many moons ago. 🙂 Thank you for tagging me on the Blog Tour! I loved taking your tour, and I drool over those wooden crates on your desk! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

