UNIQUE

Barns……………..I love barns of all shapes, sizes and ages!!! Each one has it’s unique signature. They can be round, square, rectangular, short, tall, one story, two stories, metal, post & beam, stone and any color. I absolutely love old barns………………I am saddened when I see an old barn in need of repair or falling down.  The word barn means different things to different people…………..some think a small building is a barn but I  look at a barn being big with a lot of space inside.

The inspiration for the month of October is this fabulous photo over at Scrapstuffz challenge blog. My inspiration for this LO is the building itself from this photo……………….THE BARN:

Image

Unfortunately, the barn in my LO is not on our property! Instead, it is located 45 minutes from us in the Hancock Shaker Village museum. We have visited the village several times and had the opportunity to exhibit our sheep at a heritage breeds show twice. The inside of this barn is very unique as it is also round. The Shakers threw hay down the middle shoot to store it. It housed 52 milk cows that all faced towards the middle making it easier to feed them. The left photo shows the barn being round, yes, round. The right photos are of the interior of the barn. I noticed as I was posting it that the journaling strips are placed wrong…………..fixed them but it is toooo late to take a photo of it so I am posting it. Will retake photo Friday and repost. Sorry for all the inconvience this might cause!!!

UNIQUE

Image

Paper: cream burlap, black & tan cardstock, various scraps and Paper House 100% Country Western.

Veneer arrows from Laurie(ScrappinPeeps), black Bic marker,crystal Stickles, jute, Recollections black and Hampton Art yellow rhinestones, black&white gel pen, TH distressing paint in antique linen, black plaid ribbon, Thickers, AO mini market and TH idea-ology chit chat.

Categories: scrapbooking | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “UNIQUE

  1. Thanks for the “Show and Tell”! Great photos. Love how you use the jute and journaling in strips. Wonderful take on the challenge! Thanks for playing at SSIB!

  2. Steffanie S

    Nice work on the challenge! Love the round barn and especially the inside. Very cool! Thanks for taking the “inspired by” challenge at Scrapstuffz!

  3. Grammachurch

    I like barns too. There is just something so homey and natural about them And having spent some time playing in them when I was younger brings back such pleasant memories. But I have never seen a round barn. That was a clever idea to make it easier to feed that many cows. Your layout is wonderful. I love all your rustic touches. The cream burlap is so cool as the background of your title.

  4. I just love old barns and we have a lot of them here in our town! It was so nice to meet you over the weekend, I am just exploring your blog and I am really enjoying your work. I actually put some fake velvet-like leaves in one of my layouts on Sunday, thanks for the inspiration! I am also glad to know about the challenges, I think I may enter a few.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

