TRUE COUNTRY DIVA

Texture………..what does texture mean to you??? To me……………it adds depth and dimension . It adds over-all eye appeal. I love  to add texture, in one way or another, to my LOs. Sometime is is a simple addition…………………..other times it is elaborate. How do I achieve texture?  I love to distress………….tearing or folding the paper, well, maybe even crumpling it up.  I add depth by adding layers upon layers of ink and mists. I love, love, love to use natural goodies on my Los……….jute, wool yarn, burlap and cotton gauze. I also love to use doilies, fabric, cork, canvas, metal, corrugated cardboard, mixed media(blended fibers texture gel) and twine.

The boymeetsgirl challenge blog offered up utilizing texture on a girl’s LO for the second part of October. This challenge is right up my alley! I love to add texture! Since this LO is kinda vintagey…………………..I decided to antique the photo, slightly. I also stayed away from bright colors, using muted tones. I used the blending fibers texture gel to add the hexagons in the corners of the LO. I decided to leave them alone……………not adding any color to them. As the gel dried, it absorbed some of the ink that was used to distress. Slightly coloring it.

Daniel took this photo on Columbus day  2013. Every year, we take photos of all our sheep…………to record how they have grown or changed. We especially take “good” photos of any show winners!

TRUE COUNTRY DIVA

Image

Paper: cardstock, October Afternoon and corrugated cardboard.

Distressing ink, Distressing paint, texture gel, 6×6 stencil, mist, letters by BoBunny and wooden, tan abaca, flowers by Recollections, linen, The Paper Studio, black gel pens, gauze and flags by Lilybee Design and LYB.

Categories: scrapbooking | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “TRUE COUNTRY DIVA

  1. Love this layout , your textures are just amazing. The colour scheme blends with the photo beautifully. I love to visit your page every month to see your animals and country lifestyle. This city girl is very jealous. Thanks for playing along with us at BMG.

  2. Gorgeous layers of texture! I like the touch of embellishments in the bottom right corner. They look like little stepping stones. Thanks for joining us at BMG!

  3. Devra

    This is absolutely incredible. you blow me away once again. All of your choices are just so perfect for this page. One of my favorites of yours. Thanks for joining in at Boy Meets Girl

  4. Really fabulous texture…well played!!! I love all of the embellishment and layers – the burlap and cheesecloth. I love sheep, too – great photo. Thank you for participating at Boy Meets Girl!!!

  5. Awesome layout! Great job with challenge! So glad you joined in the fun over at Boy Meets Girl!!

  6. Beautifully done! love the papers you used. thanks for joining us at BMG!

  7. Very nice layout! Your pages just scream country! Love it!!! Thanks for playing along at BMG!
    Stacia
    http://www.scrapstuffzbystacia.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

