My Core’dinations Creative Frenzy

Hello all!!!

Welcome to my little world of scrapbooking heaven!

I am an avid scrapbooker of 81/2×11 size pages. My passion is to create LOs that preserve our memories and tell our story to the public.

I started to scrap several years ago, when my sister-in-law introduced it to me. I tried it but found I did not have time to get involved sooooooo scrappin’ took a back seat. Six years ago, a whole farm planner  told us to start taking more photos of what we do and why. Now, I had many photos…….to many! I stuck them into a photo album with a few words about them…………..this album was just ok! The public would glance at the photos but not really look. So I decided to “kick it up a notch” and actually scrap my photos and memories. I was serious this time………….I made the time to scrap!  WHOA…………..I actually fell in love with scrappin’ this time around. I made the time to scrap. Now, when our photo albums go out into the public, the people actually take the time to go through my album and comment on it or the photos inside.

I have to admit………………I really have not used much core’dination paper until the past four months or so. Before then I only used single sheets. I did not use the paper to its fullest extent. I looked at the paper packs but refused to purchase it as I did not want to pay for paper I would not use. You see, I have purchased paper packs, in the past, and only was able to use half it. I ended giving the other half away. Just before Christmas, A large chain store had the Tim Holtz Core’finations paper packs 50% off…………………I decided to take a chance on it. WOW…………….I did not know what I had been missing out on!!!!! I can tear, crumple, sand, ink and distress to my heart’s content! Hey, I love this paper………………..the final results ar right up my alley!

I am not one to define my style as I love to try “new” things or develope as a scrapbooker. I have developed a beautiful signature leaning towards the “distressed elegance” look. I love to combine feminine products with my “guy”…………very masculine LOs.

So……….without further chitchat…………here are my LO examples:

BANANAS 4 YOU

P1020587

This LO was craeted using a combination of paper………..I love to mix and match to come up with a finished product. The chicken wire was created using a stencil, place on the corners and black distressing ink. I rubbed over the stencil with the distressing tool to create theat uneven look. I also added droplets of mist to give it dimension. I created the title with my Cricut(Create a Critter 2) from Core’dinations then added stickles. The “4” was created using the stencil and black ink.

Paper: kraft, Tim Holtz distressing paper in green, pink, white and yellow, Cardstock in green and some scraps of paper.

Stickles in crystal and worn lipstick, white gel pen, burlap, doilly, journal spot from a friend, tags from a friend in Canada, pink & white twine, fabric flowers,  butterflies by Pebbles and chipboard, gelatos in blue and yellow, chicken wire stencil, ink in black soot and mustard seed, Coffee shop mist from Tattered Angels.

Letters: title cut with my Cricut and Lara’s Craft alpha wood tags.

HOWL -OHA

P1020639

 

P1020642

A celebration of the craziness around our house. We recently returned home from a 4-H awards banquet with these fun Hawiian leis. The younger son placed them around Abbie’s neck……….she actually put up with them!

Some unusual steps in this LO:

I embossed the banners, arrows and flowers then sanded them to give a distressed feel.  I also crumpled up tightly all the Core’dinations paper then sanded the top. I also sanded the edges of the back paper to frame it. I misted the muslin then used Stickles on the flower. The red and yellow flowers were cut out using my cricut and the Storybook cartridge.

Paper: Cardstock in green, Tim Holtz Core’dinations in vintage in orange, green, pink and purple.

Pink & white twine, arrows by friend from Canada, muslin, fabric flowers, distressing ink in tattered rose and black soot, black gel pen, black Accent Enamel, Stickles in crystal, red and eucalyptus, embossing folders by Tim Holtz in honeycomb, mist in Dylusions – squeezed orange and Ditto in red.

Letters: light pink glitter by Recollections and Tim Holtz idea-ology chit chat verbalages.

AIM HIGH

P1020621

 

This LO celebrates our son’s fabulous show season and the quality of our sheep. He placed really well even bringing home Champion ewe and ram many times. We brought home reserve Champion over all breeds pair of ewe lambs. Our hard work is starting to pay off.

Some different steps taken to accomplish this LO:

The fabulous paper lends itself to tearing and rolling………it is soo easy! I embossed the green paper with a bubbles folder then I sanded the raised elements to achieve the look. The circles are cut out a little larger than I wanted then I used a pair of zigzag scissors to give me the jagged edges. I pen stitched everything.

Paper: Sugartree, Tim Holtz Core’dinations in vintage red, green, blue……….Cre’finations in scralet and black.

Letters by Recollections.

Marthe Stewart doilly border punch, Dr. Seuss quote from internet, black gel pen, American Crafts ditto black stamp marker, sanding block, tweezers to achieve distressing, tearing and rolling, pop dots,  2″ & 21/2″ circles cut with Cricut then edged with zigzag scissors, Sizzix stars #2, Embossing folders: Cuttlebug tiny bubbles and Tim Holtz bubble.

I love to scrap. I love teaching others about my methods or techniques of scrappin’. I am not one to push anything on anyone but will give them a complete overview.  I feel I can benefit the team with my teaching ability, ability to talk and demonstrate in public, love of the  craft and ability to keep up with new techniques and tips. Video cameras do not scare me………….I love cameras but do not get the chance to be in front of them as I take most of the photos in our house. I would love to help make videos.

As you can see…………..I love to distress and the Core’dinations paper fits in terrifically! I only wish I had tried it earlier.

Thank you for taking the time to check out my scrappy world! I enjoyed presenting it to you………………sure hope I can get to know you all better!

I am not able to add your blinkie as I have not been able to access our email since last evening. I am sorry

 

 

Categories: scrapbooking | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “My Core’dinations Creative Frenzy

  1. dstandard

    Awesome work with the Coredinations!!! Best of luck!

  2. Your creations always inspire me Robyn. You have your own style using all the materials and elements around you and it adds interest and great textures in every page you make.

    Thanks for the love you left in my site, really appreciate it.

  3. terri sproul

    YOU have won the Robin Nest Challenge, please contact us to claim your prize

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

