Goat Milk Vanilla Yogurt

Here is the recipe I use to make my own yogurt. I use fresh goat’s milk but you can substitute fresh cow’s milk. The consistancy will not be as thick as the yogurt you buy in the store but it is real creamy and you know what is in it.

1 qt. fresh milk

1/2c. powdered milk(optional but makes the yogurt thicker)

1t.  yogurt culture(I buy a small container of the freshest plain yogurt to get started…….then I use a teaspoon full from the yogurt I make)

1/3c. sugar

1/2t. vanilla

Warm the milk to 115 degrees, keep track of temp. witih a cooking thermometer. Rmove from the heat.

Stir in powdered milk, sugar and vanilla, mixing well.

Mix a small amount of milk with the yogurt culture to remove any lumps.

Stir the culture into the warm milk…….mix well.

Place the warm yogurt into a wide mouth mason jar………….screw on the lid. Place in a warm (112 degree) oven. I make yogurt when I dry food……………..using the dehydrater, I can regulate the temp. I place the jar/jars around the outlet then cover with a towel. The yogurt needs to incubate 6 to 8 hours.

I incubate for seven hours then place in the refridgerator, to cool.

Enjoy plain or with fresh fruit.

Categories: Recipes | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Goat Milk Vanilla Yogurt

  1. Will this recipe work with soy milk as well? I am allergic to cow’s milk and don’t have access to goat’s milk.

    Also, tried to leave a comment on your entry to FCCB on camping. Love your LO. Putting the diecuts in layers around the pic was a great idea and added a ton of depth. Thanks for sharing with us @ FCCB?

    Blessings,
    Belinda

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

