Mother’s Day Blog Hop – May 4&5

Welcome to this year’s Mother’s Day Blog Hop!

I am honored to be amongst the best scrapbookers around! You will find much inspiration during this hop!  You have arrived here from MANDI’S http:mjskraze.blogspot.com blog. If you get lost along the way or if you are just joining us please go back to  AMANDA’S http://lovejoypaper.comblog.

Amanda asked us to come up with something for Mother’s Day! We could choose to do a LO on our mom, us as a mom or a Mother’s Day gift. I knew intsantly I wanted to make my mom a scrappy photo mat including pictures. What a task to begin with! I needed to choose the paper………………what represents us, as a family????? I decided to use the black and wood pattern paper. You will see by the photos the paper choice was perfect. I decided to keep the embellishments to a minimum………………focus on the pohtos! I also knew I wanted to distress……………….giving the mat that vintage/ farmy look!


Paper: Hooked on Fishing “Driftwood Dock” by The Paper Loft and black cardstock.

The black and wood tone paper is distressed with burlap Distressing Ink, Versafine black onyx ink……………..I then added a few streaks of Malted Milk paint dauber by jenni bowling

Burlap, misc. orange plaid ribbon, white pearl bling by Want2Scrap, Making Memories gems and brads.

The wheat embellie was cut out with my cricut………………the Country Life cartridge. I used two shades of yellow…………….golden and lemon yellow. I used golden smooch, burlap Distressing Ink and black ink to complete to distressed/shimmery look.

The heart embellishment was give to me by???????? I received it in a swap. It was red, pink and white but I distressed it………………..so it would look right with the rest of my mat. I used Burlap Distressing and black ink.

Now…………………the moment you all have been waiting for! I am offering a RAK to those that leave me a comment and tell me your favorite method of distressing. Please also leave me a way to get ahold of you……………………….I  will draw a name on Monday May 7th and get the RAK right out to you! Here is the RAK……………….distressing goodies:

I hope you enjoyed visiting my blog……………………. you are now off to visit PHOTOCHIC’S http://craftyscrapbooker.blogspot.com blog. Thank you for joining us for this Mother’s Day Blog Hop!

 

Categories: scrapbooking | Tags: | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Mother’s Day Blog Hop – May 4&5

  1. Love, love, love your beautiful LO! I am so taken with the wood patterned paper that’s so popular now and the jute is the perfect frame for all those sweet photos. The contrast of the sweet swirly bling and ribbons on the rugged background is awesome! Your Mom will love it. 🙂

  2. Wow!! Love this Robyn. I did a frame too! I haven’t tried distrssing yet but have all the tools for it. I really should give it a shot.

  3. I usually use ink to distress. I’ve been thinking about crumpling paper…it’s just out of my norm. I guess it’s good to step out of the box sometimes though.

  4. And I love the burlap! I have some that I’ve been waiting for inspiration for!

  5. Andrea Niemeier

    Oh I LOVE how you added the burlap to your page as a frame — it really made everything stand out! The pictures are just adorable and you rock at distressing! I usually use my scissors to distress. Nothing else has really worked for me yet. Convo me at CK 🙂 Great page Robyn!

  6. Moongirl

    Oh, I love that project! It is so Robyn. Great distressing. I usually tear, or use the blade of my Xtaco (I know, I know…) I also love distress ink!

  7. Steffanie S

    Your project is just fantastic! I agree—everything goes together so perfectly! Nice work! My favorite method of distressing is with ink and my spongy distressing tool. Thanks for your inspiration, Robyn!
    I can be found at Club CK (brown eyed girl)

  8. Tara

    I love distressing with inks and tearing. A page isn’t complete without a little bit of ink somewhere.

  9. Mandi

    Great page. I love the rolled paper. I love to distress with a pair of scissors and the Hedi Swapp distress tool. I can be found on Club CK under Cards4Ever

  10. Awesome page! I usually just use ink to distress, but I also have some little sanding things I use sometimes. I can be found at Club CK: snipsandsnails

  11. Lovely project, I like the colors you chose and also that is focused on the pics 🙂
    I discovered distress just recently and the only technique I’ve used so far is scissors… Look forward to keep on learning tho 🙂

  12. Devra

    Robyn, this might be my favorite thing you’ve made. Beautiful!

  13. Angela A

    Very fun! I like how you put so many different things together to have a fabulous work of art! Beautiful!

  14. Carolyn Ewy

    Gorgeous!! Love the burlap framing and the wheat and heart cluster, so pretty! My favorite distressing technique is inking. I can be found on Club Ck…csescrap13

  15. Cassie W

    Beautiful! I love to ink edges, sand edges and even rip the edges sometimes.

  16. danamk

    What a beautiful project!! You do a fabulous job with distressing – I’m still learning. 🙂 I really like roughing up the edges of pages or mats and I love inking edges. But I’d like to learn a lot more techniques.

  17. I love your project, Robyn!! Your distressing is perfect on this layout. This is my first visit to your blog and it looks great!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

