GRANDMA’S SPECIALITY

I dearly loved my grandmother! She was an incredible lady. She grew up during the depression……….her family was just like all the other farm families……………trying to make ends meet and raise three children. I can remember my great -grandmother, slightly. She passed when I was young. The thing that stands out in my mind, visiting my great- grandparents house, was all the trains in the basement! During the depression, my great – grandmother would utilize “cheaper” versions, of recipes, to feed the family. One recipe that was passed down to me was the “PILGRIM PIE”. Instead of pecans(which was really expensive) the recipe uses oatmeal and coconut. It tastes just like pecan pie.I treasure this recipe as it is one of the only recipes I got from my grandmother before she passed away.

This LO is inspired by this Page Maps sketch:

Image

I also used the bright colors from this inspirational piece over at Child’s Play blog in my LO. The xylophone was a fascinating toy………………I loved it! My brother and I played it’s music over and over again pretending we were in a band, just like Lawrence Welk!

GRANDMA’S SPECIALITY

Image

Paper: red cardstock, various scraps and Doodlebug Designs Bon Appetite line.

Black soot ink, orange floss, wood flags and BG meatl flowers from Shirley, green Washi tape, paper edge by EK,  folded flower from Shelby over at Scrappin-Peeps,  BG flags,  crystal Stickles, black Enamel Accents and BG Fact & Fiction alpha stickers.

Categories: scrapbooking | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “GRANDMA’S SPECIALITY

  1. The rows of colors on your PP are a great imitation of the xylophone!
    Love how your rosette mimics the look of the pie in your picture!
    Thanks for playing w/ us at CPC!

  2. Jane

    What a special recipe and memory of your Grandmother you have here. Bet this pie taste divine. Thanks for showing us your bright and happy page.

  3. Devra

    What a great story! Totally different colors for you and I love it! Thanks again for playing along at Child’s Play Challenges

  4. Awesome job using the xylophone for your inspiration! Thanks for playing on CPC!

  5. Deanne

    Wow! I love it!!! Thanks so much for participating in our CHILD’S PLAY challenge!! Hope to see you again for our next challenge!!
    ~DEANNE~
    A Little Bit O’ Paper

  6. Steffanie S

    How fun! I love the bright colors and your use of texture and layering is always brilliant! Thanks for joining us at Child’s Play!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

