HOGS and KISSES

Wow………….I love mixed media!!!!

When given these prompts for their October Blog Hop at Scrapstuffz blog, I was uncertain of the path this LO would take. Should it be fall? Should I pull an object from the photo? Or just utilize the fabulous colors? I love those earthy colors! So………..off I went to find a photo. I fell in love with this picture of my friend’s daughter and one of their pot bellied piglets. I fits this sketch, perfectly:

Image

The inspirational photo………my oh my how fabulous! I pulled the earthy colors to use in my LO.

Image

I rotated the photo and banners one quarter of a turn so they would fit. I decided to use a variety of mixed media techniques. First, I used TH distressing stain, in vintage photo, to stain the entire page a lovely warm brown. I then dry brushed the entire page with Jenni Bowlin malted milk acrylic paint. I inked the edges with TH distressing ink in black soot. After the page dried, I laid down the chicken wire stencil and inked some areas with black soot…..letting it dry. Replacing the stencil, I used Liquitex blended fiber texture gel to add depth. I removed the stencil(cleaned it thoroughly) and let all dry overnight. Next I lightly misted the texture gel with Dylusions peeled orange. I distressed everything including the photo. My Lo was built on top of that!

HOGS and KISSES

Image

Categories: scrapbooking | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “HOGS and KISSES

  1. Wow! This is beautiful! So much things going on here! Love all the textures and clustering! Thanks for hopping with us at SSIB!

  2. What a great take on the sketch and the photo inspiration. You did a great job using tons of techniques too. Thank you for playing with us at SSIB

  3. Seriously… so much win in this! LOVE the textures. And what an adorable photo! Great job, and thanks for playing with SSIB!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

